Lama Surya Das: The Cliff Notes Of Buddhism

This video contains an excellent overview of Buddha’s teachings by Lama Surya Das. He was born in Brooklyn, NY and spent 20 years in India, Nepal and France learning and teaching the dzogchen teachings of Tibetan Buddhism.

Lama Surya Das touches on the Four Noble Truths and the Eight Fold Path, which is the fourth Noble Truth.

He then explains how Buddha’s teachings are scientific in that “you reproduce the experiment you can replicate the results!”

“Buddhism is about awakening, discovery, enlightenment – awakening to who we truly are! It’s less of a religion than an ethical psychological philosophy awakening – a way of life.”

The eight fold path includes

  • the vision, seeing things as they are
  • the understanding, seeing the interconnectedness, interdependence and interbeing of all things
  • wise speech, coming out of the vision and the understanding
  • wise action, also based on the vision and the understanding
  • wise livelihood, finding our true work in this world
  • wise effort, the middle way
  • wise mindfulness, alert presence of mind
  • wise concentration, keeping focused

Living the enlightened life is not that difficult, is it?

So how can we be part of the solution instead of being part of the problem?

Please share your feelings and thoughts about this.

One thing that you can to right now, today is to sign The Declaration of Interdependence.

Connect with Meditation Practices

Connect with

Or enter your name and email address below.

%d bloggers like this: